Department of National Revenue. From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one minister as the Department of Customs and Internal Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise and, under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the department became known as the Department of National Revenue. It operates now under the Income Tax Act, SC 1970-71-72, c.63, as amended

The Customs and Excise component of the department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as of sales and excise taxes. The Taxation component is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes, Part I of the Canada Pension Plan, and collection of premiums and administration of the coverage provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act through its 28 district taxation offices, head office and Taxation Data Centres in Ottawa and Winnipeg,

Department of Public Works was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act (RSC 1970, c.P-38). The department is the primary agent of the federal government in the development and management of real property, providing general purpose office accommodation for some 90 federal departments and agencies, together with a full range of architectural, engineering, construction management and realty services in support of special purpose facilities. The department operates on a decentralized basis with regional headquarters offices at Halifax, Montreal, Ottawa (National Capital Region), Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver. There are subsidiary offices in all but the National Capital Region. The mainline functions of the department consist of Design and Construction, Realty Planning and Development and Realty Services plus Departmental Planning and Coordination (including Policy Research) and Technological Research and Development; in addition, the Dominion Fire Commissioner operates under the authority of the Minister of Public Works, with responsibility for protection of life of occupants of government property and for the minimization of property loss as a result

Department of Regional Economic Expansion. This department was established in 1969 (RSC 1970, c.R-4). It is responsible for matters relating to economic expansion and social adjustment in areas requiring special measures to improve opportunities for productive employment and access to those opportunities. It has the authority to prepare and implement, in cooperation with provincial governments and other federal agencies, development plans and programs designed to meet the special needs of areas where the growth of employment and income lags behind that of other parts of Canada.

The department has six major divisions, each under the control of an assistant deputy minister: Planning and Coordination, Administration, and the Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario and Western regional divisions. The Regional Development Incentives Act (RDIA) passed in 1969, provides development incentives to industry, in the form of cash grants, to encourage new productive employment in designated regions where such employment has been scarce. The department is also responsible for programs under the Agricultural and Rural Development Act (ARDA); the Fund for Rural Economic Development (FRED); the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Act (PFRA) which is concerned with land-use adjustment, water development projects and the establishment of tree shelterbelts; and the Special Areas Program.

Following a comprehensive policy review in 1973, the department developed the General Development Agreement (GDA) to implement its programs. Considered essential to the success of DREE's approach to regional development, 10-year GDA's were signed with all provinces except Prince Edward Island (covered under FRED) in 1974. These agreements provide the all-important framework for encouraging coordinated federal and provincial action aimed at realizing each region's potential for socio-economic development. The GDA's are buttressed by specific subsidiary agreements that identify joint actions to be initiated. Programs are administered from regional offices at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto and Saskatoon.

The Minister of Regional Economic Expansion reports to Parliament for the Cape Breton Development Corporation. He is advised by the Atlantic Development Council on programs and policies for fostering economic development and social adjustment in the Atlantic region, and by the Canadian Council on Rural Development on programming and policy.

Department of the Secretary of State. The duties, powers and functions of the Secretary of State of Canada (RSC 1970, c.S-15) extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: citizenship; elections; State ceremonial, the conduct of State correspondence and the custody of State records and documents; the encouragement of the literary, visual and performing arts, learning and cultural activities; and libraries, archives, historical resources, museums, galleries, theatres, films and broadcasting.

The responsibilities of the Department of the Secretary of State include those pertaining to the administration of the following branches: Cultural Affairs including: Education Support, Research and Liaison, Language Programs, State Protocol and Special Events, Movable Cultural Property Export Control, Grants, Film Festivals, Translation Bureau; Citizenship Programs including: Citizenship